Gog – Prince of Meschech and Tubal


(Hat Tip, Walter! How could I live my whole life and not know this about Meschech and Tubal??)

  • Gog is referred to as the prince of Meshech and Tubal.
  • Meschech refers to the ancient peoples who live along the Black and Caspien (sic) Seas, the Moschi, or the Moschovites.  This is the word from which Moscow is derived.
  • Tubal is a derivative of the modern word Tobolsk.  Tobolsk is the former capital of Russia and one of its most famous cities.

I wasn’t thinking too highly of the idea that Gog referred to Russia. Now I have to revisit it!

About icliks

Biding my time in central ms ... yours too, if ur reading this.
This entry was posted in Commentary / Geopolitics, eschatology, Middle East, WW3 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.